Skip to main content

2022 UAI Excellence Awards Winners

UAI honors the best in the utility analytics profession, recognizing the individuals, teams, and organizations that have achieved and maintained excellence through innovation.


The 2022 UAI Excellence Award winners are…

Best Innovative Utility Analytics Team

This award recognizes teams that have set and achieved the highest standards of excellence in utility analytics for problem solving in innovative ways and takes the time to instill that culture in their employees.

WINNER!  Consolidated Edison, Customer Data Analytics Program

Best Utility Analytics Leader

This award acknowledges and honors a utility analytics leader who has excelled at supporting any or all analytics work within their utility and who most clearly demonstrates the ability to serve and advance analytics within the utility industry.

WINNER!  Kelly Laurie, Director of Information Technology – City Utilities of Springfield 

Best Utility Analytics Professional

This award recognizes the utility analytics industry’s top professional who possess the knowledge, skills, experience, passion, and business acumen required to provide consistent, quality, and innovative effort that is directly relevant to the utility analytics industry.

WINNER!  Haley Saul, Data Services Program Manager – Tacoma Public Utilities 

Analytics Ambassador

This award recognizes the lasting contributions, leadership, enthusiasm, and tireless efforts of industry luminaries who’ve committed themselves to elevating the reputation of the utility analytics profession and improving the industry.

WINNER!  Eddy Halter, Former Sr. Director, Enterprise Analytics – Evergy

Community Engagement

Nominations are not required to qualify for the UAI Community Engagement Awards. UAI selects our winners for this category from a combination of engagement activities, including engagement scores on UAI Connect, UAI Community Conversation involvement, volunteerism with UAI, plus so much more. Two winners have been selected for this category: Most Engaged Individual and Most Engaged Utility.

WINNER!  Community Engagement Award – Most Engaged Individual: Nadia Powell, Director, Enterprise Advanced Analytics  – El Paso Electric Company

WINNER!  Community Engagement Award – Most Engaged Utility: Consumers Energy

Top 25 Thought Leaders in Utility Analytics

Utility analytics professionals are a community minded bunch. They are a conscientious group eager to learn and grow, and to share with one another to help promote excellence in the industry. And so, it is no surprise that this community is also eager to celebrate its champions, those who are the most active in the community and share their insights for the benefit of all. We are proud to celebrate all that these influencers do for our industry with UAI’s Top 25 Thought Leaders in Utility Analytics.

Pubudu Abayasiri
Director, Digital Services – CLP

Mo Awad
Director, Operations Analytics – Evergy

David Baron
Director, Performance Mgmt & Org Strategy – Southern California Gas Company (SoCalGas)

Christopher Behme
Partner and Vice President – IBM

David Bess
Director of Solutions, Utilities – Neudesic

Jerry Casarella
Director Analytics Architecture and Solutions – Public Service Enterprise Group (PSEG)

Supratik Chaudhuri
Director & Industry Principal – Publicis Sapient

Aviroop Dutt-Mazumder
Data Science Manager, Cx&T – Customer Intelligence Analytics – Consumers Energy

David Ganger
Sr. Manager, Product Management – Grid Management – Itron

Eugene Hamrick
Director, Enterprise Analytics & Innovation – Rappahannock Electric Cooperative

Tom Hobbib
Manager, Data & Analytics Services – Sempra Utilities

Chris Ivanov
Director, Forecasting and Optimization – Madison Gas & Electric

Marco LaForest
Chief Customer Strategy Analytics – Hydro-Québec

Kelly Laurie
Director, Information Technology – City Utilities of Springfield

Yong Li
Manager of Performance Center – DTE Energy

Chris Lyles
VP of Asset Planning & Management – Western Area Power Administration (WAPA)

Ellie Lynch
Sr. Director, Data Solutions – ENTRUST Solutions Group

Randy Mullinax
General Manager, Performance & Reliability – Southern Company

Pavel Ozhogin
Director, Data Science – National Grid

Maggie Peacock
Manager, Advanced Analytics – SERC Reliability Corporation

Nadia Powell
Director, Enterprise Advanced Analytics – El Paso Electric

Andy Quick
Vice President, Business Data and Insights – Entergy

Prasenjit Shil
Manager, Digital Innovation – Ameren

Phil Teng
Manager, Information Services – Rochester Public Utilities

Ted Zalucki
Chief Executive Officer – Engineered Intelligence